the e-Assessment Association

Winners of the 2020 e-Assessment Awards Announced

Winners of the 2020 e-Assessment Awards Announced

The e-Assessment Association is delighted to announce the winners of its international awards programme, The e-Assessment Awards. This is the fourth year of the Awards and the winners were announced in a Virtual Awards presentation on 16th June streamed on YouTube .

You can view the announcement here

The e-Assessment Awards programme holds a unique position, as it encompasses all sectors of education: from schools, through further and higher education to workplace training and professional exams. The Awards programme was launched in October 2016 to highlight and celebrate the outstanding and positive contributions that technology makes to all forms of assessment, and has gone on to showcase the best practice, research and innovation in the sector.

The six sets of finalists were shortlisted by six separate panels of highly experienced, international experts. The following have been announced as finalists within the respective categories:

Lifetime Contribution Award, sponsored by ACER

Professor Diana Laurillard

Best Use of Formative Assessment

AlphaPlus Consultancy Ltd for National Online Personalised Assessments in reading and numeracy on behalf of the Welsh Government

Best Use of Summative Assessment sponsored by SQA

Newcastle University for Newcastle University Digital Exam Service

Innovation sponsored by ncfe | cache

ACT Next by ACT, Inc for Innovative tool for the Measurement of a 21st Century Competence- Collaborative Learning and Problem Solving (CPS)

Best Transformational Project sponsored by RM Results

University of Reading for EMA Programme

Best Research

University of Reading, Professor Emma Mayhew, EMA Programme

Excellence in Export

PECS Data Services

Congratulating the award winners, Kerry Williams, Vice President Certification at PSI Services, the Awards’ headline sponsor, said: “The e-Assessment Association, with the support of its members, works tirelessly facilitating discussion, defining best practice and communicating the positive contribution that technology makes to assessment. This message is now more critical than it ever has been, with the COVID-19 pandemic creating the most dramatic shift in test delivery that we have ever witnessed.

Awarding Organisations have been bold and undertaken change programmes that would typically require months of development. The testing community generally has been brave and innovative in adopting technology to evolve the challenges with which it has been faced.

The first time we sponsored the event we said that, only if e-Assessment providers were willing to collaborate as an industry and share ideas and best practice, would we achieve technology’s full potential to enhance the assessment process. We believe that we. as an industry, are now realising this mission.

The adoption of these technologies is a change that we are confident is here to stay and that is why the awards are so important and why we at PSI are continuing to support them as headline sponsor into their fourth year.”

Matt Wingfield, chairman of the e-Assessment Association, added, “Every year, the Awards shine the spotlight on those who are making a positive contribution to e-assessment and help share best practice, innovation and research in technology-enabled assessment. Congratulations to all the winners and finalists with the high quality of submissions a true testament to the continuing calibre of those within the sector, with the international nature of submissions demonstrating the increasing reach of e-assessment right across the globe.

Share this: