the e-Assessment Association

The e-Assessment Awards: Winners announced for the 2018 international awards

The e-Assessment Awards: Winners announced for the 2018 international awards

19 April: The winners of the second international e-Assessment Awards were announced last night at The e-Assessment Association’s gala dinner, held in London.

The international award programme is dedicated purely to advancements in e-assessment, to applaud and learn from the latest innovations from right across the education sector – from school, college and university based learning to work-based education and professional licensure. Receiving a record number of high calibre applications this year with a truly global reach, from Australia to Europe and America.

The winners of each category, judged by separate and independent panels of experts, are as follows:

Best Use of Formative Assessment:

Winner: Vretta Inc. and Luxembourg Ministry of Education

Best Use of Summative Assessment:

Winner: International Baccalaureate

Highly Commended: Vretta Inc. and Department of Evaluation Planning and Performance (DEPP), Ministry of Education, France


Winner: Innovate Awarding

Excellence in Export:

Winner: The Nautical Institute

Best Transformational Project:

Winner: Vretta Inc. Assessment-for-Learning Program

Highly Commended: International Baccalaureate

Best Research:

Winner: Trinity College London & Lancaster University

Lifetime Contribution: Angela Verschoor

The winner of the Lifetime Contribution Award was presented to Angela Verschoor at the gala dinner last night. Senior Researcher at Cito, Netherlands and Fellow of the AEA-Europe, Angela takes an active role in sharing her expertise with the global assessment community, having made a significant contribution to such a wide range of operational on-screen adaptive test systems and demonstrating that the approach can be successfully deployed in a  wide range of subjects, languages and cultural settings.

Janet Garcia, President, PSI International, the awards’ headline sponsor, said: “Only if we are willing to collaborate as an industry and share ideas and best practice, will we achieve technology’s full potential to enhance the assessment process.”

Matt Wingfield, chairman of the e-Assessment Association, continued, “This year’s submissions not only demonstrated innovation in areas such as machine learning and cognitive computing, but also showed a marked increase in the number of solutions grounded in supporting practical, everyday assessments that meet, support and exceed the needs of all stakeholders within the assessment process. Congratulations to the winners!”


The e-Assessment Awards will take place once again in Spring 2019. Applications for entries will begin in October.  

For more information about the awards, visit

Photographs from the evening, taken by David Owens, will be freely available on request shortly. Send requests to Karen via [email protected]

Share this: